How to Get Free Book Reviews with No Blog, No List, and No Begging

How-to-Get-Book-Reviews

You probably don’t have to be convinced of the importance of getting free book reviews as well as kindle reviews.

However, how does a new author get those crucial Kindle book reviews or editorial reviews that will help to drive up sales?

Most resources rely on tactics that require already existing fan base, elaborate platforms, and major connections.

That’s all fine and dandy…if you have those resources at your disposal or are willing to trade in your friendship for a favor.

But what about the rest of us?

The ones who don’t have raving fans ready to drop reviews on request. Or those of us without a giant email list, social media following, and oodles of friends that we ‘want’ to send our books to?

Despair not my friends, because in this guide on how to get book reviews, I’ll show you how you can legally, and legitimately get those reviews, even if you’re a brand new author.

In This Article I Will Show You:

  • A proven step-by-step method on how to get your book reviewed for free
  • Tactics to getting high conversions and good grades on book reviews
  • A time-saving method to expedite your book review process
  • Amazon’s rules regarding book reviews – the REAL rules

And yes, as you’ll see at the end of this article, each step is fully compliant with the up-to-date Amazon rules for getting book reviews.

Also, while I’m writing this with the new author in mind, it’s totally applicable to all authors…even the pros.  Finally, please be aware that I did use some affiliate links in this article.  Those links did not sway my thoughts on the article, nor does it affect your pricing.  It's just a little something that goes towards my coffee fund to keep me writing.

1. Create Special Links to Go Straight to Your Review

One mistake many authors make is when they request for someone to give their book a review, they just send the person a link to their book, making the person click around till they finally get to the review page where they can write the review…yeesh, that’s a lot of steps!

Because of this, readers will more than likely not follow through. I know I haven’t in the past.

However, what if there was one special link you could send them that would take them straight to the review of your book? All they’d have to do is click, and they start writing the review.

Well, you can and here’s how:

Step 1. Depending on the format you want the review to be directed to, either find your ASIN for the eBook, or the ISBN -10 for the book (NOT ISBN-13), or the ASIN for the Audiobook.

Step 2. Take the following link, and add your number from step 1:
http://www.amazon.com/review/create-review?&asin= + (ASIN or ISBN 10)

Step 3. The above link is only to the US market.  If you want a different market, you need to just change out the “.com” to the appropriate one like “.de” for german, or “.co.uk”, and so on.  However, be sure to check that country's ASIN or ISBN-10 for that same book…because sometimes it will be different – although this is mainly for published books and usually isn't the case for self-published books.  But just check – you don't want your links to not work.

Example of What The Result Should Look Like:
US: http://www.amazon.com/review/create-review?&asin=B0041JKFJW
UK: https://www.amazon.co.uk/review/create-review?&asin=B004H4XAXO
DE: https://www.amazon.de/review/create-review?&asin=0765365278
etc…

As you can see, that will take you directly to The Way of Kings Audiobook review, since I used the ASIN for the audiobook. (PS: I'm a big fan of Brandon Sanderson, and will be meeting him in a couple of months to discuss book marketing…fan boy scream).

Now, any time you request a review in an email, message, or whatever, send them that special link to your book. That way, all they have to do is click the link and type the review. You’ll have a much higher chance that they’ll follow through and leave the review.

Caution: Your Link Not Working? First, if your link isn't working, just remember that Amazon won't allow you to leave a review for your own book. So, have someone else try your link.  Also remember that in order to leave a review, someone needs to have made $50 purchase on Amazon that year.

Also, for the rest of the steps below, make sure you use this link when necessary. That’s why it is the first point in this list.

2. Design a Book Review Ask in Your Book

This may sound crazy but when you ask for a review after your book is done, you’ll not only increase the number of reviews, but also improve your review grade.

When I did this one simple addition to one of my books, I saw the conversion rate of book purchases to reviews left increase by 3x and has stayed that way since.

You see, we authors know how important a review is. But we forget that readers don’t always understand this and need more coaxing to take the little bit of extra effort to write a book review. Therefore, just by asking, you’ll see much higher conversions.

But that’s not all. There are actually some tactics to this section that can and will improve the number of book reviews you get, as well as the review grade.

When creating the ask, it is best to do the following:

Humanize Yourself: Find ways to remind the reader that you are actually a human with emotions and feelings. Remind them of how hard it was to put this book together. By doing this, they’ll be more likely to leave ‘you’ a review. Extra bonus tip: I sometimes like to post a candid non professional or staged picture of me with my family in this section because it really goes a long way to getting to know me, and feel more personal.

Impress Upon Them the Importance of the Review: Like I mentioned above, readers don’t fully understand the importance of a review. Therefore, remind them how they help you as an author and your book.

Tell Them You’ll Read the Book Review: When readers think that you’ll read and take to heart their review, two things will happen: they’ll feel more obligated to leave one since you’re depending on them, and their review grade will probably improve since they’ll know you, the human, will actually read it. We’ve all been there where we have a bunch of gusto against sometime, but the moment they’re there, we soften our tone. Same thing with reviews. I assure you, most criticism will become more constructive in nature when they know you’ll be there to read it.

Below is an example that Ken Lozito did with his absolutely incredible book series “First Colony.”

I can’t show it all, but ultimately Ken told the story of the sacrifice he made to become an author and some inside information about his life, and struggles to get that series out.

He did all three of the things listed above without sounding cheesy or coming across as begging. It’s a fine art!

Needless to say, I had listened to 7 of the books in that series, but on the 7th one where he put this in his audiobook, it legitimately made me not only give the 5 stars at the end, but take the time to write a well-thought-out review. I felt like it was the least I could do.

So, as you can see, there needs to be a fine balance of asking without overstepping. But when done right, you’ll see more reviews come through with better grades for every reader you get.

3. Free Book Review Sites

There are websites out there where some fans of a genre or subject loves to read books and leave reviews. Many of them have different reasons for this, but overall, they can be beneficial.

Be advised though, most of the review sites out there will read your book and make a review on their website, but that it won’t be an Amazon review (see below to read more about Amazon reviews vs Editorial Reviews). Even without the Amazon review, a book review site’s review can still be a powerful editorial review.  Imagine being able to put in your editorial review for your scifi book, a glowing acknowledgment from TopSciFiBooks.com.  Just the domain alone will carry anyone to better belief in your book, then some person or author name they've never heard of.

Here are some of my favorites free book review sites:

Love Books Group: Reviews books on their site is a easy process to submit.
The Book Hookup: Very selecting but very powerful, they focus on Paranormal, Urban Fantasy, Dark Fantasy, Romance, Historical, YA, and New Adult.
Affaire de Coeur: A bi-monthly magazine that publishes reviews in historical, contemporary, paranormal, erotica, YA, and nonfiction primarily.
Book Page: Must send an ARC 3 months prior to publication date
The Kindle Book Review: Offers a list of reviews to contact individually based on preferred genres.
Compulsive Reader: Mainly focuses on literary fiction and poetry, they also review music CDs and other interesting things.
Crime Fiction Lover: Recommends sending a Press Release (***) and a bit hard to get into.
Book Smugglers: a highly read book blog that likes to focus on Horror, Urban Fantasy, SciFi, and YA.
Crime Scene Reviews: Reviews Crime and Mystery novels
SF Book: Started in 1996, SF books offers a list of Scifi Book reviewers you can contact individually
Fantasy Book Critics: Lists a bunch of legit book review sites, as well as offers their own in the Fantasy realm
Top Sci Fi Books: This website lists the best scifi and fantasy books based on certain subgenres. They have a sweet spot though for self published authors.
Barnes & Noble Review: An incredible name for a Editorial Review, however, they require you to physically mail a copy and a cover letter in for consideration.

If you’d like to see more niche-specific examples, Reedsy has done an AMAZING job of curating a list of book review websites, their requirements and even how much traffic each site potentially gets. However, do note, many sites on that list aren’t always free.

You can check out that list here: https://blog.reedsy.com/book-review-blogs/

4. A Giveaway Contest that is Legal!!!

In truth, I almost didn’t include this one. Not because it breaks any rules, but because you need to ABSOLUTELY follow my steps in order to stay compliant with Amazon.

But when done right, this tactic is extremely killer!

What you do is create a giveaway contest. In this contest, if they click the link that points to your book’s review page (see special link discussed above), they are automatically entered into the contest. That's it.

This works because, when they click the link, many readers will decide to leave a review since they are already there. This is compliant in Amazon’s eyes because they are entered in the contest by just clicking the link, not by submitting a review.  Therefore, the review is not incentivized.  You can see an example below on how to word this for best optimization as well as staying compliant.

Step 1: Build a giveaway
Step 2: Make it clear that to enter the giveaway, they just need to click the link that points to your book’s review page (see #1 above)
Step 3: And that’s it.

How to Build a Giveaway

There are two ways to build a giveaway:

1. Use Your Email System: You can send out an email blast to your readers with the instructions on how to do this. With most email systems like ConvertKit, you can mark which subscribers clicked on the link in the email. Then when the time is up, you can select from there.

2. Use KingSumo: This is a paid app that is around $49 for life, but it makes creating contests SUPER simple. Furthermore, it handles the legality issues on contests, and you can post links to the contest on Social Media, email, or even embed it on your website. You can check it out here.

5. Contact Amazon Top Reviewers

Back in the day, Amazon used to list the email address and or websites of those who chose to make that public on their accounts.  However, Amazon did away with this and instead only allows top Amazon product reviewers on the Vine Program to make their information available.

So, what is a Top Amazon Reviewer?  These are people who Amazon believes make the most reviews.  They even get a little tag next to their reveiws letting readers know that this is a professional reviewer.  Pretty neat, right?

Beware: This process is very tedious, and time-consuming.  I also find that most will reject the request.  However, I only put this in here because I know of many authors who have benefited from this, but they too spent an inordinate amount of time following through.  So, don't dabble in this one.  Either commit or move on.

So, if you do decide to do this, how do you get the Amazon Top Reviewers to review your book?

Step 1: Go to the list of Amazon Top Reviewers

Step 2: Click on their profiles to see which books they've reviewed: No longer does Amazon have a specific spot for email address.  However, most of the reviewers do have post their information in their bios, or list their social media and websites at the bottom (see below picture).

Step 3: Contact the reviewers:  Depending on what source (social media, email, or website) contact them appropriately and see if they would be willing to review your book.

6. Using Launch Teams & ARCs Effectively

Using a launch team or Beta Readers and sending Advanced Review Copies (ARCs) is an important tactic that help with your book’s overall launch by ensuring you have good reviews on day-one of the launch. If you’re unfamiliar with that, then check out this article here.

But the short and simple to this tactic is that prior to launching your book, you send ARCs to people who will hopefully read the book, and or be prepared to leave a review upon your book's launch.

However, working with lots of authors, it’s become apparent that most DO NOT do ARC reviews as effectively or efficiently as they should, creating a super low conversion rate of beta readers who leave a review. Most times, this tactic sounds promising but is actually a complete let down.

Well, not if you do the following extra saucy tips, which will ENSURE you get more reviews out of it:

1. Stop sending mass emails to all Beta Readers: If you really want people to take action, ensure you talk to them personally. Send each beta reader a personal email asking him or her to take certain actions. They’ll feel more obligated to act when you are specifically emailing them and counting on their review. Whereas when it's obviously a mass email, many will inherently think that it's fine and you won't notice if they don't.

2. Track Your Readers: I actually develop a spreadsheet listing each beta reader or launch team member, when I last talked with them last, if they've left a review and any other notes. It’s important to keep track of them and that way no one slips through the cracks.

3. Have Them Notify You When It’s Dropped: Tell your beta readers or launch team members that once they’ve dropped the review, to let you know so you can read it. It isn’t just the expectation that you’re specifically waiting for their review, but also that you really want to know what they thought. Make it clear that it would mean the world to you. With this, they’ll feel as though you truly care and are waiting on them.

4. Remind them They Don’t have to Read All Of It: The biggest hang-up I get from Beta Readers is that they couldn’t finish the book in time and will leave one “later” (which they never do). However, remind them that they do not have to finish the book in order to leave a review, and that they can always change the review once they’ve finished it if they’d like. They can instead talk about what they’ve read so far, or even your legitimacy on the subject or genre. This way, there is not excuse to not leaving a review.

If you employ these four tactics to beta readers or launch teams, you’ll absolutely double your conversion rates of reviews left.

7. Reminder in Your Auto Responder System

If you have an email list, then make sure to use your auto responder to help with your reviews.

Think about it…

If they signed up for your email list, then it means that they read your book and liked it. However, it definitely does not mean they left a review.

Therefore, set in your auto responder an email that specifically uses the tactics of 1 and 2 above to convince them to leave a review. This will help increase your book’s review frequency, its grade, and even help with your email system.  Furthermore, employing #2 above, in the email, you'll build a stronger author brand and connection with your readers.

8. Relaunch Your Book

There are a couple of different ways to relaunch your book, and things to think about when doing so.  However, let's discuss why this really helps with your book reviews and should be considered.

  1. Amazon loves new books:  I call this the Amazon honeymoon period. I don't have any empirical data to prove this, but through years of working with books, when a book is launched, Amazon gives preferential treatment to new books.
  2. Use a new launch team: Perhaps you didn't effectively use your launch team or beta readers as well as we discussed in step 5.  Well, by relaunching, you can.  So, employ those steps and see real good come from it.
  3. Update some information: Look at your book as it is, and ask if there is something you can do to improve it.  Perhaps you've seen some comments brought up in the reviews?  Or you know there is a section you should add?  These changes will help improve your book's review grades.

Editorial Reviews vs Amazon Reviews

We all know what Amazon reviews are.  But do you fully understand what a Amazon Editorial Review is?

On Amazon, there is a section on your book's sales page where you can enter “Editorial Reviews” through you Author Central Account (here is how to setup one if you haven't already).  In the editorial review, you can put just about anything here.

It could be from what a website said about your book, a news paper, a verbal recommendation, etc.  The point is, you can use what people say outside of Amazon, here.  As we showed from a heat map study, readers pay attention to the section.  So, therefore, use the tactics listed above in order build a persuasive Editorial Review section for your book.

However, these are NOT Amazon reviews.  Amazon reviews are where someone went to Amazon and left a review for your book itself.

Amazon’s Rules on Book Reviews

There is a little bit of confusion when it comes to giving a free book and asking for reviews.  In truth, Amazon was a little confusing about how they look at this.

However, I went through all of Amazon's user agreements, FAQ's and even their own memo's so as to give you a definitive answer of:

YES, you can give a free copy of your book in advance for a review.

But there are some caveats and nuisances to this statement.  So, check out the video below and learn all about Amazon's Book Review policy and ensure you are continually operating in Amazon's good graces.


Want more videos like this? Then click HERE to subscribe to my YouTube channel
So, here is a list what you can’t do:

1. Pay or Incentive Someone to Leave a Review in any way: This is different from the giveaway because they entered the giveaway by clicking the link and not by leaving a review

2. Offering a free gift if they review

3. Offering to refund the author their money for the review

You can give the book for free to them as an ARC.  But you can't cover their costs. While they are both essentially “free,” the second one requires a review in order to make it free, thus incentivizing the review.

The same can be said about offering to send a Amazon gift card to cover the book

4. Swapping reviews with another author

Some Legit Paid Ways to Speed Up The Process

I repeat, you cannot pay or incentive someone in any way to leave a review. But you can pay to promote your book to readers who are likely to leave reviews.

Self-Publishing Review is one example of a service that sells email list promotions designed to result in more sales and more unbiased reviews. If you're looking for opportunities, that could be worth looking into. Use the code KINDLEPRENEUR5 to save 5% on anything from their site.

Now, Let's Go Get Those Book Reviews

No matter which route you’ll go, there’s no easier way to get the initial reviews, especially if you’re an unknown author. An additional benefit of this approach is that you’ll get to speak with your readers directly, thus getting valuable feedback and building new relationships.

I hope you enjoyed this guide on how to get free book reviews. It seems pretty straightforward, but can be a little time-consuming…but as most authors will tell you, getting your book reviewed can be a powerful metric that should have a positive effect on your Kindle sales.

Dave-signature

202 Comments

  1. Lori White on October 12, 2020 at 10:18 pm

    Hi, Dave,
    Thanks so much for all of these tips. Some excellent ideas!

    Per the giveaway, do you find that people leave reviews if they haven’t yet read the book? And if they decide to do a quick star rating rather than a written review, does that still carry any weight with potential readers?

    Thanks for your response.

    • Dave Chesson on October 14, 2020 at 8:32 pm

      I’ve seen some come in where it looked as though they hadn’t read it. So it definitely happens.

  2. Yassine on October 9, 2020 at 1:29 am

    Hi Dave, thank you for the valuable information’s, just a question please

    In the way the person has to write a review for entering in contest giveaway, how’s can be the next step to send to the winner his copy paperback as promise ?

    • Dave Chesson on October 9, 2020 at 2:19 pm

      Using a program like the one discussed in the article, it will handle selecting the winner. Then contact them, get their mailing address and send them the prize.

  3. Ralph on September 25, 2020 at 9:42 pm

    Hey Dave, great article on how to Get Book Reviews. Great information.

    I have a couple of questions though.

    In the section on “Building a Giveaway” you recommend that you use an email system like ConvertKit to send out an email blast out to your readers. If you are a new author like myself, my email list is fairly small at this point. How does one go about building the email list of readers?

    And is ConvertKit the email system that you recommend using? Is the email system you refer to the same as the Auto Responder system you mention later in your article.

    Please advise.

    • Dave Chesson on September 26, 2020 at 1:48 pm

      Actually for most authors, I think MailerLite is the best option (cheaper, and their free version is legit). I did a full comparison of all of them and you can see my break down here: https://kindlepreneur.com/best-email-services-for-authors/ . As for collecting email subscribers, offering a optin gift inside your book is the best way to turn a reader into a subscriber.

  4. Sandy Hill on August 28, 2020 at 8:56 pm

    An author told me that Kindle automatically asks readers to write a review when the reader finishes a Kindle novel. Is this true? If so, there would be no need for a tagline at the end of your uploaded Kindle manuscript inviting the reader to review, would there?

    • Dave Chesson on August 28, 2020 at 9:27 pm

      There is a popup, but it sometimes shows up way at the back of your book. Furthermore, most people don’t fill that out. However, the use of the tactic above has increased people’s willingness to leave a review and also pre-positions them for a better review.

      • Sandy Hill on August 28, 2020 at 10:24 pm

        So is it a duplication for me to put a request on the last page of one of my Kindle novels, giving a link to where the reader can review it? Is that still worthwhile to do, or will it be seen as a duplication? Thanks so much for all the helpful hints for us newbies.

  5. Ariana Keddie on August 22, 2020 at 9:04 pm

    That was a fantastic informative read. Thank you for all the valuable advise, I’ll be sure to use it when I finally publish.

    • Dave Chesson on August 23, 2020 at 1:57 am

      Awesome and glad you liked it.

  6. Debby on August 22, 2020 at 6:41 pm

    Wow, thanks so much for explaining Amazon’s guidelines on how to give a free book in exchange for a review! I was under the impression that it wasn’t allowed. So grateful to find out otherwise! 🙂

    • Dave Chesson on August 23, 2020 at 1:58 am

      Absolutely and you bet!

  7. Vilas Jain on August 9, 2020 at 9:57 am

    Thanks …. A very useful article. I just wrote an eBook on covid stress and found your inputs very useful.

    Thanks a ton.

    Vilas

    • Dave Chesson on August 10, 2020 at 2:34 am

      Glad to have helped!

  8. David Allery (aka Author Dani Love) on July 11, 2020 at 5:54 pm

    Hi Dave,

    Fantastic article! Love the contest part. Thanks! Have a question, though.

    You say, “In this contest, if they click the link that points to your book’s review page (see special link discussed above), they are automatically entered into the contest.”

    Do you have to make a special link for each country? Because, as you said early on in the article, each country has a separate review site.

    Email subscribers, as you know, can be from ANYWHERE (even tim-buck-too HAHA). So when you create a clickable link in your email, are you just creating ONE. And that one is applicable for the U.S. market?

    Cheers!

    • Dave Chesson on July 13, 2020 at 2:46 pm

      You can, but I wouldn’t. Your book which is probably written in english, is probably not doing well in foreign markets. Therefore, driving them to drop a review in a foreign market probably isn’t worth the extra effort outside of the US and UK.

    • Ahmed on July 20, 2020 at 6:11 pm

      Hi Dave,

      Thank you for posting such useful information to help authors attain more reviews. I especially like the idea of keeping a link in the Author’s Note that will take them directly to comments page. I just would like 1 clarification, by ISBN-10, do you mean that if my ISBN is 13 digits, I only put the last 10 digits? I look forward to your response.

      Thank you!

      • Dave Chesson on July 21, 2020 at 3:06 pm

        You get two – an ISBN 10 and an ISBN 13.

  9. Melanie Dufty on June 23, 2020 at 10:40 am

    Thank you Dave, your articles are really next level and fill me with hope I can master it all. Do you know if someone must spend $50 with each different country’s Amazon site to be eligible to leave a review – or just $50 (is it US $ I wonder) across all Amazon sites?

    • Dave Chesson on June 23, 2020 at 7:22 pm

      I’m pretty sure its with each Amazon market in order to be able to leave a review in that market. Of course the price or amount is probably different per market. But there is a mechanism in place to ensure a real customer left the review.

    • Anna Maledon on August 9, 2020 at 1:57 pm

      Yes, if you only buy from UK site you will only be able to leave reviews on amazon.co.uk and not on other sites. I tried that recently and since I only buy on amazon.co.uk that’s the only place I can leave a review. Amazon.com tells me I am not eligible.

  10. Ines on June 22, 2020 at 9:28 pm

    Hi Dave, thank you for all the wonderful info. Note that several of the links on this post are coming back with phishing warnings on Bitdefender. I clicked mostly on SciFi review site links.

    • Dave Chesson on June 23, 2020 at 3:44 am

      Hmm…strange. I didn’t see any of those when clicking. Any in particular?

  11. Selys Rivera on June 22, 2020 at 6:40 am

    Okay, I get the advanced review copy. But what if I already published my ebook and I’m in KDP? Can I still send a free copy for a review?

    • Dave Chesson on June 23, 2020 at 3:44 am

      Yes

  12. Sally Jadlow on June 13, 2020 at 3:20 pm

    Dave, I’ve tried this numerous times. The link will only take me to my Amazon sign in page, not to a review page. I even copied your link and put my ASIN # on it with the same result. What am I doing wrong?

    • Dave Chesson on June 13, 2020 at 4:26 pm

      Yes, and like I said in the article, two things: 1. It will ask for the person who clicks the link to sign into their amazon account because in order to leave a review, you need to have an amazon account in good standing and 2) Since you’re the author, it won’t work for you anyway because you can’t leave a review for yourself so it won’t take you to your book’s review page.

      • Brian Savage on July 8, 2020 at 12:32 pm

        Try going in through INCOGNITO Mode. Thay way it won’t know it is you.

    • Natasa on June 28, 2020 at 1:02 pm

      Hi. Thank you for this great tips😊. I am a new selfpublisher, just finished my first book and I published it 3 days ago on amazon. I have a question about the reviews…is it true that a review on amazon can not be made by someone linked to you on social media?
      Looking forward to you answer
      Natasa

      • Loretta on July 15, 2020 at 10:55 pm

        Natassa, This is a common concern. If you are using the same login for your social media accounts and for Amazon (for example, you use Facebook to log into Amazon), then Amazon can “see” your friends list and block those people from posting reviews. However, if you separate your logins, you won’t have this problem.

  13. Demian zur Strassen on May 30, 2020 at 4:37 pm

    Thanks Dave, for this helpful article.

    I am actually about to pubslish a revised and extended edition of a non-fiction book. It will grow from 105 pages to something like 160+ pags. Now I am thinking of offcially relaunching it. But I am not clear about a few things.
    1. If I change ISBN will it loose the reviews it has?
    2. Would changing the ISBN mean I can request Amazon to notify readers of the new edition?

    I would be very grateful if you find time to answer.
    Demian 🙂

    • Dave Chesson on June 1, 2020 at 9:02 pm

      It depends on how you do it. You can just go into your KDP account and update the file for the book. That will ensure you won’t lose your reviews, and if the change is large enough (which this is) it will auto trigger and notification.

  14. Cheryl Burton on May 30, 2020 at 1:06 am

    Thanks for this very relevant article. You provide helpful information. I appreciate you and share your site and articles with my colleagues.

    • Dave Chesson on May 30, 2020 at 1:44 am

      Thank you and glad to have helped 🙂

  15. Giff on May 9, 2020 at 6:15 pm

    My author group was just discussing this yesterday. I tried to convince them that giving ARCs in advance of a review was OK, but there’s still a lot of folks who are too timid to breach what they see as Amazon policy. I’m definitely gong to point them to this article.

    • Dave Chesson on May 9, 2020 at 8:20 pm

      Yeah, you bet. That specific video will really help because in it, I use Amazon’s own written policy. So it’s not conjecture or thoughts. It’s from Amazon itself.

  16. Frank on May 6, 2020 at 8:14 pm

    A curiosity question about the review “contest.” How do you select winners? I’ll have a long list of folks who have clicked the link, but selection seems arbitrary. Thoughts?

    • Dave Chesson on May 7, 2020 at 1:59 pm

      Using software like KingSumo or others, upon the date set by you to complete the contest, it does a random draw of the winner. This is important because they have to comply legally in doing such.

  17. Vanessa on May 5, 2020 at 9:42 am

    Thanks for this very helpful post, Dave. A couple of comments: I didn’t think the ASIN differed from store to store; and I think you need a question mark after review in the URLs of the non-Amazon com stores in the post above, otherwise it doesn’t work.

    And a question: I was planning to post a review request on my Facebook author page and include URLs to the book’s review page in the relevant stores. However, it occurs to me that Amazon will know people are coming from Facebook and then refuse to post the review on the basis that they must know me personally. And this might be the same if I put them in my newsletter to my mailing list. Am I right about that? In which case, is it better to use these special links only when asking individuals by email to review? Any info gratefully received. And thanks again for all the helpful info you publish.

    • Dave Chesson on May 5, 2020 at 12:42 pm

      Thanks for the heads up on the ? – I must have missed that when copying the code over. As for ASINs, it depends. Published books and those through different systems will have different ASINs (you can see that in the example above) but usual self published books do not…usually. There are cases of it being different. So I erred on the more cautious side. But I’ll update to make that more clear.

      As for your question, no. Amazon doesn’t automatically assume anyone from an email or social media came from you, and thus do not automatically delete any review from those platforms.

      • Vanessa on May 6, 2020 at 9:17 am

        Thanks, Dave. Knowing Amazon’s eagerness to take down reviews, I thought I’d better check. I will post those URLs in that case. 🙂

        • Dave Chesson on May 6, 2020 at 3:41 pm

          I know how that goes and no problem.

          • John Etterlee on May 6, 2020 at 11:36 pm

            David. I can’t find the article you wrote about amazon short links to review pages. Can you post it here?



          • Dave Chesson on May 7, 2020 at 1:58 pm

            It’s at the top of this article that you commented on. It’s the first method to getting more reviews.



  18. Jenn on May 3, 2020 at 1:47 pm

    Hi Dave!
    I just wanted to drop a comment to let you know how much I appreciate all the articles you take the time to put together, they are always soooo helpful.

    • Dave Chesson on May 4, 2020 at 7:35 pm

      Awe, thank you. That made my morning to read 🙂

  19. Bradley Charbonneau on May 3, 2020 at 6:20 am

    Going above and beyond as usual, Dave!

    This is truly a blueprint for this whole process and something I will now refer to to make this all work. There are quite a few steps (if you do it right) and it will take some time (if you want it to really work) but hey, those are exactly the reasons these work and the quicky-tricky won’t.

    So happy when you post a new bit of content, it’s always worth reading!

    • Dave Chesson on May 3, 2020 at 11:47 am

      Thanks Bradley, that totally made my morning to read that!

  20. Julie on May 3, 2020 at 3:25 am

    Thanks Dave, comprehensively helpful as always. I may have my dum-dum hat on but if you have a book in KU already, is it OK to send out a copy to readers that have said they may read and review the book on Amazon? It is not an ‘advanced’ copy and it is not exclusive. Am I violating some obscure Zon TOS?

    • Dave Chesson on May 3, 2020 at 11:49 am

      Not a dum question at all (also, I call it my “I haven’t had coffee yet” hat). The way I interpret Amazon’s ToS on this is that the KU exclusive means that you can’t put it on another market or make it readily available somewhere else. However, sending someone a free copy is your decision and completely doable.

  21. Jonathan on May 2, 2020 at 5:34 pm

    Thank you for the article, Dave.

    A question about the special link that directly opens to leave a review? Is it possible to make it geo-friendly so that it will open the right Amazon store for readers around the globe?

    • Dave Chesson on May 3, 2020 at 1:08 am

      Sadly, no. I even tried doing a geni.us link and Booklinker and it wouldn’t work. One has to manually build them 🙁

      • Jonathan on May 3, 2020 at 9:37 am

        So I can’t just use one link to put in a Facebook post or my end matter? That’s a problem if one sells to a lot of countries.

        • Dave Chesson on May 3, 2020 at 11:46 am

          Yup. If you have LOTS of people all over the world following you, then you’re probably doing pretty good. How I would work it is, I’d put that link for the US market, and then use a geo-link for the rest. The rest will have to find the “leave a review” button. But the main market will get the direct treatment. Or, if you can isolate it down to the most important like (US, UK, Germany) you can just build those three specific links (using the updated steps above because I’ve added how to build the international ones) and leave it be.

          • Jonathan on May 3, 2020 at 2:33 pm

            I would like to have links to US, UK, Canada, Australia, and Germany. Odd that we can’t create a geo-link.



          • Dave Chesson on May 4, 2020 at 7:35 pm

            Agreed.



  22. Merissa Racine on May 2, 2020 at 2:00 am

    Hi Dave,
    I followed your directions and added my ISBN at the end. I’ve gotten the message “item not found” for my ebook.
    And
    “Review your purchases” for my print book.
    Any suggestions on what I’m doing wrong?
    I’m including it to see if it works for you.
    http://www.amazon.com/review/create-review?&ISBN=978-0-9993033-0-6
    Thanks,
    Merissa

    • Dave Chesson on May 2, 2020 at 11:45 am

      Yes, like the article says, only ISBN-10….not ISBN-13.

      • Merissa Racine on May 3, 2020 at 1:01 am

        Thanks for the clarification!

        • Dave Chesson on May 3, 2020 at 1:07 am

          Glad to help!

  23. Daniel on May 1, 2020 at 11:30 pm

    Dave, my experience has been that those type of review links only work for people who have purchased the book. Have you noticed this?

    • Dave Chesson on May 2, 2020 at 11:46 am

      No…just had someone test a link that hadn’t bought the book. Plus the example in the article I have should work for you – unless you bought The Way of Kings (which if you haven’t, you should – it’s my all-time favorite Fantasy book).

  24. Chuck Neighbors on May 1, 2020 at 10:15 pm

    Dave, Thanks for this! Good stuff. Question: Unless I missed it, you didn’t say anything about “verified” reviews vs. “unverified.” I was under the impression that the verified reviews are preferred. Correct? And if so if you give a book away the review that is given would then be unverified. Can you address that. Is it worth worrying about unverified reviews?

    • Dave Chesson on May 2, 2020 at 11:47 am

      That is correct. Verified is better and the only way it can be ‘verified’ is if the purchase purchased it through Amazon.

  25. Mark Barnes on May 1, 2020 at 9:12 pm

    Dave, you are a genius. Love Publisher Rocket and all of your advice. Keep it coming.

    • Dave Chesson on May 2, 2020 at 11:47 am

      Awe…thanks! That made my morning to read 🙂

  26. Susan Hawthorne on April 25, 2020 at 7:37 pm

    just tried creating the link to review and it didn’t work. Got a message at amazon:
    “Something went wrong. We are currently unable to accept a review for this product.”
    My book is live and well on Amazon, lol. So don’t know why it didn’t work… or maybe Amazon has changed things so you can’t do this anymore?

    • Dave Chesson on April 25, 2020 at 10:01 pm

      No, just tried it and it worked for me. Just make sure you entered the right ASIN. Or if you’d like, let me know which book and I’ll make it for you here.

      • James King on April 26, 2020 at 4:38 am

        It won’t work for me either, because I haven’t spent $50 in the last 12 months. So I get this.

        We apologize but this account has not met the minimum eligibility requirements to write a review. If you would like to learn more about our eligibility requirements, please see our community guidelines.

        But I am going ahead with 3 book links assuming it works for those who have filled Amazon’s boots.
        Here’s one of the links – http://www.amazon.com/review/create-review?&asin=B084LYTKZG

    • Tamara Patzer on April 26, 2020 at 12:48 am

      If you are logged in your own account, you will get an error because you can not review your books. Try someone else’s book and it will work.

    • Mistress Black Rose on May 2, 2020 at 2:29 am

      Susan, when you’re logged into your own Amazon account where your books are published, you get that message when testing the link because Amazon won’t let you review your own book.

      Have a friend try the link. That’s what I do to test it.

    • Mistress Black Rose on May 2, 2020 at 2:36 am

      Also quick note, I had to pay for my Reedsy Discovery reviews. It was $50 but so worth it. I got some of the best reviews out of all of the review services I’ve tried.

      Love their service! The reviewers were kind, considerate, and intelligent.

      On the flip side stay away from BookSprout. I’ve given them a chance twice. It’s free or $10 for premium. The reviewers are rarely able to push the review through to Amazon. I gave them a chance twice and both times had nothing but headache. That was with the paid service. The reviewers that did figure it out didn’t leave great reviews.

      • Ann Silvers on May 3, 2020 at 12:25 am

        Thanks Mistress Black Rose. Very helpful comments.

      • Elisavet on May 4, 2020 at 8:53 am

        Thank you so much for sharing this. How many reviews did you receive and did they upload them on Amazon as well?

        • David on June 13, 2020 at 10:28 am

          Mistress black rose
          I want to participate buy want to know how many review did Reedsy Discovery reviews leave

  27. Daal on April 11, 2020 at 10:53 pm

    absolutely genius – for once I’ve found a site that gives us info that hasn’t been reprinted a zillion mindless times. thank you!

    • Dave Chesson on April 11, 2020 at 11:22 pm

      Bummer this is perceived as the first time I’ve done that, but glad you enjoyed it.

      • Daal on April 12, 2020 at 9:03 pm

        so sorry to give the wrong impression – I meant thank you y-o-u because all the other sites have the useless stuff! just reworked my original comment – hope It is clearer

        • Dave Chesson on April 13, 2020 at 12:15 pm

          Ah, no worries, and glad to have helped! That made my morning to read that. Thank you!

          • Daal on April 13, 2020 at 8:36 pm

            btw, I ‘d love if you ‘d guest blog post for my site. if you ‘re so inclined, here ‘s a link to general guidelines: https://wp.me/p6OZAy-1eQ



          • Dave Chesson on April 13, 2020 at 9:00 pm

            Oh super. I’ll probably reach out later this week then. Just working on an assignment.



          • Daal on April 13, 2020 at 11:34 pm

            great! good luck with your current assignment



  28. Cho on March 30, 2020 at 5:18 pm

    Hi!Does this still applies today? I’m thinking of setting up a giveaway/raffle using this way, more like a grand one. $1,000 prizes or so.How would Amazon know that you’re compliant with the raffle you’re going to run? Will they be asking some proof or will they be checking how you mail your list?Thanks for this!

    • Dave Chesson on March 31, 2020 at 12:19 pm

      Yes it is. And as for them, no they probably would not know…That is just more of a legal aspect.

  29. Vinnie Apicella on March 11, 2020 at 2:17 pm

    Regarding points number 1 and 2, but specifically 2 where we include a link in our Author page, this looks like a great option and I plan to include it; however, considering that readers may not have purchased through Amazon or may prefer another channel like Apple Books or Google, etc. is it reasonable to include a few link-to-review options to account for these? Or would this appear too crowded and instead just go with Amazon?Thanks in advance for the feedback!

    • Dave Chesson on March 16, 2020 at 3:24 pm

      I’d recommend to go with just Amazon.

  30. Monica Pierce on February 29, 2020 at 3:41 am

    For #1, the link that takes someone directly to the review, does that magically include whether or not the reviewer has purchased the book, making it an Amazon verified review (which is much better than not verified)? I would love to give this direct link to my launch team members but not if it won’t recognize the fact that they also actually bought the book…

  31. Kelly Lacey on February 12, 2020 at 12:03 pm

    I highly suggest a book blog tour, I organise successful tours. I save you hours of work, I work with all genres and have a package to suit all budgets. You can email me at lovebooksgroup@gmail.com for my free price kit.I would love to help promote your book.

  32. Susan Tilghman Hawthorne on February 2, 2020 at 3:51 am

    Reedsy Discover is not free, they charge $50

  33. Diana V on January 20, 2020 at 3:00 pm

    You have not mentioned the MOST IMPORTANT thing – eligibility to leave reviews. According to Amazon,to contribute to customer reviews, you must have spent at least $50 on Amazon.com in the past 12 months. A lot of people who have read my book wanted to leave a review, but could not do that, because of these irrevelant rules:(

  34. Project Manager on November 26, 2019 at 3:53 am

    VERY informative – great content. Excellent video – liked the humor added to the otherwise potentially dry topic. Well done, sir. Very well done. cannot thank you enough for clearing up my confusion on the ‘free book copy for an Amazon review’ issue, but I’m trying anyway. Thanks a million!

    • Dave Chesson on November 26, 2019 at 4:31 pm

      Awesome and glad you liked it.

  35. Cynthia Fridsma on October 28, 2019 at 7:21 am

    I agree It is hard to get reviews for your book(s). As a writer, I sometimes do a book swap via Goodreads. I did not run into trouble with Amazon.You can also try to find book reviewers on Facebook 🙂

    • Dave Chesson on October 29, 2019 at 1:45 pm

      Very true!

  36. Thomas Hughes on August 8, 2019 at 9:29 pm

    Hi Dave, you mention that authors cannot “trade” reviews for each other. What about writer groups like Self-Publishing School? Does Amazon remove those reviews when students review each other`s work?

    • Dave Chesson on August 8, 2019 at 9:37 pm

      If they figure it out, those reviews will be removed. Make sure you do not use a Super URL (https://kindlepreneur.com/a… and do not swap – where you review one person`s and then they review yours. Swapping usually triggers and automatic removal.

  37. Lynda McDaniel on May 21, 2019 at 9:56 pm

    Hiya,
    Well, happy days are over. A year ago, I bought Book Review Targeter (BRT) and got pretty good results. I worked hard at it, wrote individual emails to the reviewers, and received 30+ reviews. But now BRT has been crippled by Amazon`s decision to no longer make email addresses available. As a result, BRT could no longer give out email addresses in its results. I’ve found the BRT results for social media and websites/blogs too labor intensive with very poor results.
    Dave, any new ideas for how to boost our reviews? I really miss that aspect of my marketing. Reader validation makes other marketing practices like promos and Amazon advertising so much more effective.
    Thanks,
    Lynda

  38. Peter Stoddard on May 20, 2019 at 12:34 am

    I published my book as a Kindle eBook and paperback on KDP – Kindle Direct Publishing. I have no Amazon seller account. Can these strategies be put to use without an Amazon seller account?

  39. Adam Golden on March 31, 2019 at 9:08 pm

    Hi Dave
    As you know, Amazon stopped displaying the names of reviewers some time ago. When that happened a similar service to Book Review Targeter, BookRazor, closed It is service down citing the inability to “legitimately obtain reviewer contact information”. In light of this change are you still recommending Book Review Targeter today? Have you used it since the change was implemented? Can you offer any insights on the service as it stands in 2019?

    • Dave Chesson on April 1, 2019 at 3:21 am

      Yes – and with that in mind, it is not as effective as it used to be. However, before Amazon did that, BRT archived all information and uses it as such. I did a podcast episode (https://kindlepreneur.com/e… interviewing two authors who still use it and discussed the tactics they used – it goes well beyond just emailing and asking. So, it is more a realistic look at the program, but again, I think it is not as effective as it used to be.

  40. Son Mike on September 10, 2018 at 10:39 pm

    Hi I want list mybook for free on amazon .Can you help me?

  41. Lolly Walter on August 30, 2018 at 2:35 pm

    Hi Dave, and thanks for another useful article/video. Do these same review rules (particularly those about sending review copies) apply to books enrolled in KDP Select? Thanks again for the informative work you do. (I’m going through your video course about AMS ads right now, and it has been super-helpful so far!)

  42. Jean Johnson Hoefling on August 29, 2018 at 12:08 am

    Dave, This article has lots of good info, as usual. But I’m not understanding this sentence at ALL: “When sending them the link, be sure to tell them when you ‘d like to receive a review from them 2 weeks is a good time frame.” Why would they send me the review? They are the one who has to post it on Amazon. Do we collect the reviews and then send it back to them by way of a reminder before launch? I was going to try to do auto-reminders through BookFunnel or MailChimp or something. How does that work with what you are suggesting? Thanks!

    • Dave Chesson on August 29, 2018 at 8:49 pm

      The “Link” that is mentioned in that sentence, is a link that sends them directly to the review page of the book. So, it means in 2 weeks, they’ll go there and drop a review.

      • Jean Johnson Hoefling on August 31, 2018 at 3:31 am

        Okay, thanks Dave. There is so much conflicting advice from experts on this point. Some say give the ARC readers 1-2 months, but your suggestion of 2 weeks may help them remember better. My ARC team may have forgotten all about it by the time I publish this fall! I’ll do the best I can and hope for the best. Thanks for all your solid advice. I’m sure enjoying KDP Rocket.

        • Dave Chesson on August 31, 2018 at 5:47 pm

          Absolutely. One thing that does help with the ARC reviewers is taht when you go to publish, just remind them that they can leave a review now (even if they have not finished) and change/update it once they are finished…but press upon them the importance of a review as soon as you pub.

          • Jean Johnson Hoefling on September 5, 2018 at 7:17 pm

            This is a great tip. Thank you. When I grow up, I want to be like Dave.



          • Dave Chesson on September 5, 2018 at 7:51 pm

            haha..That is assuming I have ‘grown up’ 🙂



  43. Tuan Anh Chu on April 22, 2018 at 11:05 am

    Please, could someone give me some advice about Kindle publishing: Could I publish different category ebooks under different author`s name(pen name) in 1 account ? THANKS!

    • Фирст Ласт on May 13, 2018 at 8:22 pm

      Yes, you can.

    • Alison on July 7, 2020 at 5:53 pm

      Hi Dave
      I am a complete newbie almost finished my first novel so the ‘what next’ has been playing on my mind. I’m blown away by the info you’ve shared on this thread! I’m thinking, go back to the start of your thread and follow the process…but here you mention starting the process before publishing? How? I’ve also just picked up the KDP Rocket name so I’m assuming that’s you, so I’ll go straight there and start learning. Thankyou!

      • Dave Chesson on July 10, 2020 at 2:15 am

        Yup – the best reviews come from the networking you do and the build up of people who will be your ‘street team’ or ARCs.

  44. Jennifer Ayers on April 16, 2018 at 9:26 pm

    Thank you Sam for your detailed review here…very helpful!

  45. Tom on March 13, 2018 at 8:45 am

    The sales page for Book Review Targeter is terrible. It is way too crowded and busy, and they do not list the price anywhere, and if you click “Get Started Now” it just reloads the page, lol. Makes me worry about the quality of the product.I see someone in the comments mentioned $197. That is *absurd*.

    • Dave Chesson on March 13, 2018 at 1:58 pm

      Hi Tom, yeah, their sales page is currently being reworked. And they have different pricing system.

  46. tom on March 10, 2018 at 10:14 am

    Hello, There is a free promotion of my Kindle book from tomorrow, if interested to read ad review it.
    Thanks everybody https://www.amazon.co.uk/lo

  47. Jonah Ian on February 8, 2018 at 1:29 pm

    Loved it as always!

  48. Jonah Ian on February 8, 2018 at 1:29 pm

    Loved it as always!

    • Dave Chesson on April 22, 2020 at 5:46 am

      Glad you liked it!

  49. Dr. Pam Young on February 7, 2018 at 4:37 pm

    Thanks for clarifying the confusing issue of reviews re’ Amazon policy. Just in time for me.I was trying to decide which step was next and you helped me make that decision confidently. I need to go ahead and set up the Pre-order for book 3, Burnout to Bliss series. Thanks again!

    • Dave Chesson on February 7, 2018 at 5:42 pm

      Awesome Dr. Pam. Yeah, I really really really wanted to study the fine print of it and create something definitive on the subject. Glad you found it valuable.

  50. Dr. Pam Young on February 7, 2018 at 4:37 pm

    Thanks for clarifying the confusing issue of reviews re’ Amazon policy. Just in time for me.I was trying to decide which step was next and you helped me make that decision confidently. I need to go ahead and set up the Pre-order for book 3, Burnout to Bliss series. Thanks again!

    • Dave Chesson on February 7, 2018 at 5:42 pm

      Awesome Dr. Pam. Yeah, I really really really wanted to study the fine print of it and create something definitive on the subject. Glad you found it valuable.

  51. Jennifer Theuriet on January 18, 2018 at 7:12 pm

    Hi Dave,
    This might be a silly question but do you have to wait until your book is launched before starting this process?

    • Dave Chesson on January 18, 2018 at 8:55 pm

      Oh no. You can DEFINITELY do this immediately and I’d recommend it.

  52. Jennifer Theuriet on January 18, 2018 at 7:12 pm

    Hi Dave,
    This might be a silly question but do you have to wait until your book is launched before starting this process?

    • Dave Chesson on January 18, 2018 at 8:55 pm

      Oh no. You can DEFINITELY do this immediately and I’d recommend it.

  53. Scott Edward Maitland on January 3, 2018 at 4:37 am

    Hi, Dave. Love your stuff! I just published a new book on KDP titled, “Ketogenic Diet Meal Plan for Vegans” and I do not have an established online presence to drive traffic to it. did not you have a list of the best free book promotion sites? Can you send me a link to that? Thanks, Dave. https://uploads.disquscdn.c

  54. Scott Edward Maitland on January 3, 2018 at 4:37 am

    Hi, Dave. Love your stuff! I just published a new book on KDP titled, “Ketogenic Diet Meal Plan for Vegans” and I don’t have an established online presence to drive traffic to it. Didn’t you have a list of the best free book promotion sites? Can you send me a link to that? Thanks, Dave. https://uploads.disquscdn.com/images/090a80a714c22ff14b276e9061f6c12becdef40074c1e4ded323eb01ecf673b8.jpg

  55. Tyler Korver on December 17, 2017 at 7:53 pm

    Hi Dave, I have seen some authors go into the description category, and at the end of that they put, “Tags: x, y, and z” Is this a legit way to rank higher and ultimately get more reviews? Or do you think this would generally be frowned upon by Amazon (too blatant)?

    • Dave Chesson on December 18, 2017 at 3:37 pm

      I personally don’t think that works and it is also against Amazon’s TOS to stuff keywords in there.

      • Tyler Korver on December 18, 2017 at 3:55 pm

        Ok great, thanks, glad to know it doesn’t work though, because it’s discouraging when you see other spammy books doing it

        • Dave Chesson on December 18, 2017 at 4:12 pm

          Yup and no problem – me too 😉

  56. John Johnson on December 6, 2017 at 5:08 pm

    Dave, Don’t forget about Golfwell. We do book reviews. Hi to all your readers and Everyone, Happy Holidays to you all!

    We love books!

    Free book reviews are available. Golfwell has free book reviews >> https://www.teamgolfwell.com/free-book-reviews.html

  57. Cherie Mitchell on December 2, 2017 at 1:27 am

    Tried them after they posted on FB saying they wanted books to review. I emailed them a copy of the book within five minutes of the post going up and received a very prompt email reply saying they’d ask the Team if anyone could review. Less than 24 hours later I received another email saying the Team was absolutely swamped with back books and they had no time to review mine. That’s completely fine and I have no issue with that – it is a free service after all. I just would have preferred an honest reply such as this book isn’t in the genre we’re reviewing. It does pay to keep your story consistent when you’re using multiple social media outlets to promote your website.

    • Golfwell on January 29, 2018 at 2:50 am

      I just saw this Cherie, sorry that happened to you. They do review books. Try them again. Might have been a mixup.

    • Golfwell on January 30, 2018 at 1:03 am

      Hi Cherie, Sad you had a bad experience with our review service. Send the book you want to me at donjohnsonwriter@yahoo.com. I’m with TeamGolfwell. Thanks
      Don

  58. John Johnson on November 25, 2017 at 6:09 pm

    Hi Dave,

    If your customers are searching in icy waters near an iceberg, let your followers know, we are a group of retirees in New Zealand and read a great deal as well as write and publish – mostly golf books and humorous books – adult humor mostly.

    We decided to offer a #free #bookreview service and readers and yourself can see what we do on our website http://www.teamgolfwell.com and you can see pages for what we need to do a free book review and also a page for reviews we have done.

    We love Authors and love to review most all genres of books. All our reviews are free.
    Here’s an example of our reviews:

    5 Stars “A Bold Frank and Fearless Description of Amazing Events of an Incredibly Full Life.”

    “Christian Title’s “Climbed the Hill” is an amazing true life story and is one of the most moving personal accounts I have ever read. The writer bares his soul and takes you on an unbelievable journey and transformation of a boy of average beginnings to a multi million dollar successful artist. His story is uplifting in a way you don’t expect – the reader pauses many times to reflect about what was just read.

    Written with a remarkable touch of humor which keeps the reader fascinated and eager to see what the next turn of events will bring, the author doesn’t hide anything but gives a bold, frank and fearless description of the amazing events of his incredibly full life.

    A great read which I found difficult to put down, this memoir would make an intriguing and heart-warming movie. A human life is not always coherent and easily explained but you understand his actions clearly.

    The story covers the Art World, his talented performances as a singer in Paris night clubs, sailing the world and much more including “those wonderful creatures called women” some extremely famous and very well known. As a legacy, Mr. Title is planning a multi million dollar a new art center and museum featuring his works,his extensive collection of American impressionist paintings, and international exhibits along with studios for aspiring artists.” https://uploads.disquscdn.com/images/72d446f47a72f508d8726bf3b827b997d2271d5739255c6d25bdb8a59547edfc.jpg

  59. Andromeda Jones on November 21, 2017 at 5:24 pm

    Hi there, I’m just wondering if anyone in the community knows if there is an app or program which will automatically notify you when you have a new review? Tnx in advance!

    • Dave Chesson on November 21, 2017 at 5:27 pm

      Hi Andromeda, there used to be one called stellar. It was a mac/pc app that would notify you when a new review came in. However, about 6 months ago, Amazon made it REALLY difficult for 3rd party vendors to check reviews and display information. Since then, Stellar stopped working. I’ve personally looked into creating a version that actually works, but it’s pretty costly to do and I’d need to keep working to update it and make it work.

      • Andromeda Jones on November 21, 2017 at 5:29 pm

        Hi Dave, thanks for your quick response. I figured if anyone knew if this was possible, it would be you. Oh, that’s annoying. Maybe we could petition Amazon to create this service?

        • Dave Chesson on November 21, 2017 at 5:34 pm

          Amazon isn’t really responsive to such things. I mean, just look at their AMS dashboard – haha. It really wouldn’t take too much to make that work – just a little expensive. But my team is looking into it – because personally, I used to use that program and loved it. It kept me up-to-date on when reviews came in and I didn’t have to actively go looking for them, which is a time waste.

          • Andromeda Jones on November 21, 2017 at 8:16 pm

            Ok well if you manage it I’d definitely be interested 🙂



  60. Bruce Ethington on November 16, 2017 at 3:22 am

    Step 1 and Step 2 really work! I had great success using that approach even though it takes a lot of work. Well worth it.

    • Dave Chesson on November 16, 2017 at 3:42 am

      Oh yeah. haha…I know what you mean.

  61. Mez on November 15, 2017 at 11:39 am

    Hey Dave — good stuff! Thanks for clarifying that in such unmistakable terms. When it comes to giving a free advance copy, what’s the best way of going about it from Amazon’s point of view– should the reviewer download from Amazon, or should I be providing the book directly from my own stock?
    Thanks again for the good advice!

  62. Sam Burnell on July 28, 2017 at 7:04 am

    Final update on this – now been using this for two months. Every week I search 10,000 reviews using the targeter, that’s around 60,000 in the last two months. I have had 18 replies from potential reviewers and I have received 4, yes 4, reviews. I’ve now exhausted the reviewers in my particular genre so its cost near enough $50 per review. I think that you can work out that this is not such good value.

    • Roy Ashkenazi on September 7, 2017 at 9:38 am

      Hi Sam,
      I also want to buy this tool,and i consider if it’s wirth that.
      Do you try to use like same said ” big giveaway for YA readers, or a bigger project they can be involved in” “They get enough requests for book reviews, see what you can bring to the table, offer more than any other author is willing to.”?

  63. Sam Burnell on June 21, 2017 at 4:34 pm

    Hi I’ve tried the book review targeter which cost $197. To be homest it was a waste of money. In three weeks I got to search 30,000 worth of reviews and this got me just over 50 emails. Out of that 8 bounced, I got two very abusive replies and only two replied offering to read my book. Not worth the money.

    • Olga GOA on November 20, 2017 at 6:54 am

      I suppose only fans can leave good reviews. Another people couldn’t leave because they can say that they haven’t time or another reason not to read and buy book. Create a fan base – the best invest to get more reviews on Amazon.

    • SciFi_Fantasy Girl on November 25, 2017 at 7:34 pm

      I purchased the program and have found that it is a useful tool, but that’s exactly what it is – a tool. Something that needs to be used correctly or it’s a waste of time. Tips to help: (1) make sure you’re targeting the correct audience (that the books you select really are like yours (2) be clear upfront when you send out your emails about any content issues that your audience may find appealing/repulsive (3) If you get rude responses, Deb does provide a link in the training where you can notify her and that reviewer’s name can be added to her list so that future searches don’t give out that reviewer’s name. All that said, my success rate with getting reviews is that only about 10% of the people emailed said they would review. Of these. about 35% actually did their reviews. If you want the program to pay for itself, you need to be willing to use it long term.

      • Sam Burnell on November 25, 2017 at 10:01 pm

        I’ve plodded away with this since I wasted my money in May, I am now running short of books in my genre to request review details on to be honest and it has generated few reviews.

      • Karina Kantas on May 2, 2020 at 11:30 am

        Read Discovery is charging $50. So not free anymore.
        Thanks so much for all the work you do for us authors.

  64. Dave Ives on April 28, 2017 at 3:16 am

    Another informative – action/results based – article on this website – thanks.

    • Dave Chesson on April 29, 2017 at 2:03 am

      Thanks and glad it helped!

      • Inflation on May 16, 2017 at 5:16 pm

        Hey Dave, very helpful article but i have a silly question,
        if i send free copy of book to them in three formats – EPUB, MOBI, and PDF but how to get their review on amazon.com as i sent free separate copy not link to my kindle book from where they purchase and review book like a person through organic search do.

  65. Carson Allen on April 22, 2017 at 4:41 am

    Between Kindleprenuer,Buck Flogging, Matthew Woodward, and John Lee Dumas, there is no way you to NOT get passionate about online content creation. Another fantastic article with great practical tips that work.

  66. Andrew Joseph Marmion on March 17, 2017 at 5:03 pm

    Woohoo!!! I’m interested if the offer is still there. Email: andymarmion@gmail.com

  67. Jennifer Lancaster on February 2, 2017 at 12:37 am

    OK, This way was not working for me as there was no email on normal accounts, and Top100 reviewers have enough to review. I have another idea, offer to review unreviewed books of similar authors and thus make friends. Indirect, but good karma.

    • Scott A. Reed on April 20, 2017 at 4:29 pm

      Jennifer, remember that Dave pointed out in his article that doing “author swaps” to get reviews is one tactic that Amazon searches for in their algo. They frown on this practice. I have to assume that when you do a review for an author, they simply look to see if that author did a review for you. If so….reviews removed.

  68. BUM 10in30 on December 14, 2016 at 1:29 am

    Just too difficult to find emails on there and like he said, if they went through the trouble of adding their email address, they are professional review writers (for hire). So you might as well hire the same thing on fiver or upwork.

    • Scott A. Reed on April 20, 2017 at 4:33 pm

      BUM, be aware that paid reviews are against Amazon TOS. If you Google book reviewers, you WILL find folks that will do free reviews for specific genres. I did this but reviewers that I found seem to prefer fiction over nonfiction.

  69. Camilo on November 17, 2016 at 12:00 am

    Hello Dave, I was wondering how does this work with the new rules of Amazon in regards to reviews.

    Thank you

    • Dave Chesson on November 17, 2016 at 2:30 am

      Shouldn’t be a problem. That change was in reference of products and they specifically state that the changes aren’t for books.

  70. newsrants on September 25, 2016 at 12:04 am

    I write in a particular genre and one of my books has 75 reviews. I just went through all “top” “positive” reviews for emails, found 12. I then just sent a BCC email which I tried to make sound personal and told them how much I appreciated them reviewing my other book. Let’s see if I get a few bites for reviewing my current book in same genre.

    I have tried this method with a non-fiction book using another service where you pay them $35 to do the same thing. You give them 3-5 similar books and they do the searching. In a few days they supply a spreadsheet with the reviewer name, email, book they reviewed. I sent out personal emails to all of the 100. Exhausing. From the constant follow up I got 7 reviews. Not worth the time and effort.

  71. newsrants on September 24, 2016 at 11:57 pm

    Wish the Book Review Targeter was more affordable. $197 is way out of most people’s price range.

    • Scott A. Reed on April 20, 2017 at 4:38 pm

      Thanks newsrants, I was going to check Book Review Targeter out. But at that price, you saved me the trouble. I’m just a poor, starving author like everyone else here.

  72. Derek Smiths on May 24, 2016 at 1:21 pm

    I have had very little to zero luck contacting Top Reviewers. Use Goodreads review service or HUGEOrange. Both get results quickly and are approved by Amazon. There are also email lists for free you can use which sometimes help.

    • newsrants on September 24, 2016 at 11:58 pm

      What is Goodreads review service? Finding groups and posting?

  73. Ali Ekbatani on April 24, 2016 at 11:17 am

    Dave, any way of using this tool and having the reviewers leave a verified review and still comply with the Amazon TOS? Or is the number of reviews (say 10-20 unverified reviews) enough to push the book forward and the sales will follow after that? Thanks for the informative article.

    • kindlepreneur on April 24, 2016 at 11:20 am

      Unverified reviews help with showing the book is legitimate and is like testimonials to a potential buyer. Verified reviews help push books higher up in the rankings (amazon’s algo rules). No issue against Amazon TOS using this method, so long as if you are giving them a free copy that they state that in the review.

  74. Paul on March 3, 2016 at 6:37 pm

    How is using Goodreads.com and the “technique” used in this post diffent form spam ? You contact people who have no idea about you, and ask them to review your book ( with crap like “here is a free book you’ll benefit from” )

    • kindlepreneur on March 3, 2016 at 8:15 pm

      Hey Paul, great question. With regards to Amazon, you actually have to go out of your way to ensure that your personal email address is connected and shows with your review. Therefore, most of the people who have their email show up with their review are those that are doing the reviews professionally or are just interested in doing them for free products…or the random outlier. But you are right, to an extent. Since I operate in niche areas and am heavily invested into the proper marketing of my works, I don’t just mass email people. I personally reach out and build connections….but not all people put forth the extra effort. In essence, any marketing tactic used without tact, respect or completely overused in mass quantity can quickly become spammy.

  75. […] a listen to what Dave Chesson says when it comes to Amazon removing reviews. Good thing Amazon is not stalking […]

  76. Elizabeth Osipova on December 16, 2015 at 6:17 am

    ok I get it but as I was searching through reviews following your method step y step I didn’t find any emails. There is no information there….. am I looking at the wrong screen? I can’t understand what am I doing wrong.

    • BookRazor on December 16, 2015 at 11:08 pm

      Hi Elizabeth, you often have to go through pages of reviewers to find an email address. You also need to be logged in to your Amazon account in order for email addresses to be shown.

  77. Matt Haines on October 9, 2015 at 4:52 pm

    Hi! I appreciate the tips. A little confused about the part where you suggest to send the book in different file formats. If the reader reads it outside of the Kindle ‘system’, they won’t be able to review it. Right?

    • kindlepreneur on October 9, 2015 at 11:55 pm

      That is correct…they won’t be able to leave a “verified review” but they can leave a review. An unverified review isn’t as powerful in terms of rankings, but the number of reviews still shows, which is nice. All up to you though.

      • Matt Haines on October 9, 2015 at 11:59 pm

        Thanks! Just wanted to make sure I understood.

  78. […] would give you access to reviews, or even a random comment on […]

  79. Derek Murphy on August 19, 2015 at 1:40 am

    I just did this for my upcoming mermaid novel; got a few hundred names – sometimes you only get the website address, so you have to go to their site and leave a message or contact them that way. It’s smart that there are services for this now, since most authors are too lazy to do it. In my case, I’ll also be contacting a few hundred YA / paranormal romance blogs and book reviewers, but offering them better offers than just a free book (like a big giveaway for YA readers, or a bigger project they can be involved in). They get enough requests for book reviews, see what you can bring to the table, offer more than any other author is willing to.

  80. Jeremiah Boehner on August 18, 2015 at 12:14 am

    This is Great. why didn’t I think of this. Thank you for sharing I’ll be sure to apply this on some of my future books.

  81. Kindle | Pearltrees on August 17, 2015 at 10:19 pm

    […] How to Get Book Reviews for Free. You probably don’t need convincing on the importance of getting ebook reviews. But, how does a new and budding author get those crucial Kindle book reviews that will help to drive up sales? Most resources will give you common advice of: Build a list and ask your subscribers for reviewsReach out to your followers and ask them to review your bookAsk your friends, associates, colleagues and family for reviews That’s all fine and dandy…if you have those resources at your disposal. […]

  82. Michal on July 2, 2015 at 8:53 am

    I vote for the effectiveness of this approach. I did something similar on the smaller scale last year and success ratio was somwhere about 20-30%..
    And yes, it’s very time-consuming, that’s why I abandoned this tactic.

    • James on September 10, 2017 at 5:03 am

      I thought the whole process was one that was to be abandoned?
      Jim

Leave a Comment





dave2

Hey Guys, I’m Dave and when I am not sipping tea with princesses or chasing the Boogey man out of closets, I’m a Kindlepreneur and digital marketing nut – it’s my career, hobby, and passion.

GET MY FREE KINDLE RANKING EBOOK

Please enter your name.
Please enter a valid email address.
Something went wrong. Please check your entries and try again.

FREE TOOLS & COURSES


FAN FAVORITE POSTS

BEST MARKETING TOOL FOR AUTHORS